Such a lovely book, with nineteen clearly described complete projects (and some smaller ones, like making your own buttons, dotted around). The photos are lovely and the introduction entitled Soulful Stitching is inspiring. It’s the sort of book I would love to work through when the children are older and I have more time (as friends and family with older children keep promising me), but for now, I can’t leave my sewing machine behind and I kept reading through the projects thinking about how I would adapt them to “get them done” on the machine – which says it all really!

A lovely, light read, and if you feel like you’re always on fast forward then the introduction is a read for you. The projects would make great presents, if you can find the time to make them. You may want to get this out for a beginner who is nagging you for a machine! They may find a love for, and joy in, hand stitching. Also a good read for people suffering from stress, in hospital, or discovering meditation; or those who simply want to unplug and slow down.

There are 7 copies of this book in the Surrey Libraries network.

